Skip to content

Brad Pitt: Another atheist dad

May 17, 2011

Brad Pitt spoke at the Cannes Film Festival press conference yesterday about his latest film, The Tree of Life, in which he plays an oppressive father in a religious household.

According to a review in the LA Times, one of the children in the family dies tragically, and when the mother ponders the universe for answers, the film enters a 20-minute montage about how the universe and the planet came into existence, with images of meteors raining down, planets clustering together, and lava. Underwater, the first signs of life emerge. Dinosaurs make an appearance as well.

I don’t watch a lot of movies, but this one seems worth watching.

Here are a few of Pitt’s comments from the press conference regarding his experience with religion:

“I grew up with Christianity, and I remember questioning greatly some things that didn’t work for me, some things did,”

“Many people find in religion something to be very inspiring and actually leads them to opportunities. I myself found it very stifling…”

“I grew up being told that God’s going to take care of everything and it doesn’t always work out that way, and when it doesn’t work out that way, then it’s God’s will. I got my issues man, don’t even get me started…I got my issues.”

It’s fascinating—in real life Pitt is an atheist and, by all accounts, a terrific and devoted father. Here he plays a religious father who is prone to rage. Reflecting on what his kids will think of this dichotomy he said, “They know me as a dad and I hope they’ll just think of me as a pretty damn good actor.”

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

