Skip to content

Esqueleto said it best

January 27, 2011

I had lunch with a fellow graduate student on Tuesday. As we were getting better acquainted and he learned that I don’t believe in God, he asked, “What do you believe?”

I found it difficult to answer. I thought, why should I be expected to believe in something if I don’t believe in God? What’s the importance of believing? Maybe I just don’t like the word believe. I’m more comfortable saying that I accept something as true or not based on evidence. I essentially said something like, “I believe in things for which there is evidence.”

Then later I remembered a line from the movie Nacho Libre in which Nacho tells Esqueleto, “Pray to the Lord for strength.” Esqueleto replies, “I don’t believe in God. I believe in science.”

Esqueleto said it best. Science has improved humankind’s quality of life in innumerable ways. It’s given us vaccines and antibiotics, electricity, communication technology, transportation, and on and on.

As Michael Shermer has said, “Science is the best tool ever devised for understanding how the world works.” (He also “sings” the line here). So if I have to pick something to believe in, then I believe in science.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

